Best of Detroit 2014

Thousands of Hour Detroit readers go ‘on the record’ with their picks for the Best of Detroit 2014!



Published:

(page 2 of 8)

RESTAURANT FOR GENERAL EXCELLENCE (TIE)

The Root Restaurant & Bar, White Lake; therootrestaurant.com
The Lark, West Bloomfield Township; thelark.com

VIEW FROM A RESTAURANT

Coach Insignia, Downtown Detroit; theepicureangroup.com

PLACE TO HAVE DRINKS BEFORE A SHOW

Roast, Downtown Detroit; roastdetroit.com

RESTAURANT AMBIENCE

CITY

The Whitney, thewhitney.com

SUBURB

The Lark, West Bloomfield Township; thelark.com

WINE LIST

CITY

Coach Insignia, Downtown Detroit; theepicureangroup.com

SUBURB

The Lark, West Bloomfield Township; thelark.com

PLACE FOR NIGHTCAPS AFTER THE SHOW

CITY

The Whitney, thewhitney.com

SUBURB

The Oakland Art Novelty Company, Ferndale; theoaklandferndale.com

RESTAURANT DESSERT (TIE)

Vinsetta Garage, Berkley; vinsettagarage.com
The Cheesecake Factory, Novi; thecheesecakefactory.com

APPETIZERS (TIE)

Roast, Downtown Detroit; roastdetroit.com
Fenton Fire Hall, Fenton; fentonfirehall.com
Prime29, West Bloomfield; prime29steakhouse.com

ATTENTIVE SERVICE

The Lark, West Bloomfield Township; thelark.com

SUNDAY BRUNCH

CITY

The Whitney, thewhitney.com

SUBURB

Toast, Birmingham; toastbirmingham.com, and Ferndale; eatattoast.com

LOCALLY PRODUCED FOOD BRAND

Garden Fresh Salsa, gardenfreshsalsa.com

BEER SELECTION

One-Eyed Betty’s, Ferndale; oneeyedbettys.com

STREET-LEVEL WINDOW SEAT

CITY

Roast, Downtown Detroit; roastdetroit.com

SUBURB

Vinsetta Garage, Berkley; vinsettagarage.com

INDEPENDENT COFFEEHOUSE

CITY

Great Lakes Coffee, Detroit; greatlakescoffee.com

SUBURB (TIE)

Commonwealth, Birmingham; gocommonwealth.com
Chazzano Coffee Roasters, Ferndale; chazzanocoffee.com

PLACE TO TAKE OUT-OF-TOWNERS

CITY

Slows Bar BQ, Corktown Detroit; slowsbarbq.com

SUBURB

Vinsetta Garage, Berkley; vinsettagarage.com

LATE-NIGHT DINING

CITY

Bucharest Grill, bucharestgrill.com

SUBURB

Redcoat Tavern, Royal Oak, 248-549-0300; and West Bloomfield Township, 248-865-0500

FISH MARKET

SINGLE LOCATION

Superior Fish Company, Royal Oak; superiorfish.com

MULTIPLE LOCATIONS

Vince & Joe’s, Clinton Township and Shelby Township; vinceandjoes.com

ICE CREAM PARLOR

Ray’s Ice Cream, Royal Oak; raysicecream.com

ROMANTIC RESTAURANT

Café Cortina, Farmington Hills; cafecortina.com

CHINESE

Mon Jin Lau, Troy; monjinlau.com

PLACE FOR A BUSINESS LUNCH

CITY

Detroit Athletic Club, thedac.com

SUBURB (TIE)

Beverly Hills Grill, Beverly Hills; beverlyhillsgrill.com
Social Kitchen and Bar, Birmingham; socialkitchenandbar.com
The Capital Grille, Troy; thecapitalgrille.com

FRENCH (TIE)

The Lark, West Bloomfield Township; thelark.com
Marais, Grosse Pointe; 313-343-8800

GREEK

Pegasus Taverna, Greektown Detroit and St. Clair Shores; pegasustavernas.com

INDIAN

Priya, Troy; priyarestaurant.com

ITALIAN

CITY (TIE)

Giovanni’s, Southwest Detroit; giovannisristorante.com
Roma Café, Detroit; romacafe.com

SUBURB

Bacco Ristorante, Southfield; baccoristorante.com

GOURMET MARKET - MULTIPLE LOCATIONS

EAST SIDE

Vince & Joe’s, Clinton Township and Shelby Township; vinceandjoes.com

WEST SIDE

Papa Joe’s Gourmet Market, Birmingham and Rochester; papajoesmarket.com

SINGLE LOCATION

Holiday Market, Royal Oak; holiday-market.com

JAPANESE (TIE)

Ronin Sushi, Royal Oak; roninsushi.com
Noble Fish, Clawson; noblefish.com

KOREAN

Korea Palace, Sterling Heights; koreapalace.virb.com

VEGETARIAN

Inn Season Café, Royal Oak; theinnseasoncafe.com

VEGAN

SUBURB

Inn Season Café, Royal Oak; theinnseasoncafe.com

CITY

Detroit Vegan Soul, detroitvegansoul.com

MEXICAN

Mexican Village, Mexicantown/Southwest Detroit; mexicanvillagefood.com

MIDDLE EASTERN

Anita’s Kitchen, Ferndale; anitaskitchenonline.com

THAI

Khom Fai, Shelby Township; 586-247-7773

VIETNAMESE

Da Nang, Clawson; danangrestaurant.com

24-HOUR RESTAURANT

National Coney Island, nationalconeyisland.com

GLUTEN-FREE MENU

Wild Red Wings & Sandwiches, St. Clair Shores; wildredwings.com

STEAKHOUSE

CITY

Roast, roastdetroit.com

SUBURB (TIE)

Clawson Steak House, Clawson; clawsonsteakhouse.com
Prime29, West Bloomfield; prime29steakhouse.com

BUSINESS BREAKFAST (TIE)

Beverly Hills Grill, Beverly Hills; beverlyhillsgrill.com
Toast, Birmingham; toastbirmingham.com, and Ferndale; eatattoast.com

PANCAKES

The Original Pancake House, MULTIPLE LOCATIONS; originalpancakehouse.com

CREATIVE BREAKFAST

MULTIPLE LOCATIONS

Toast, Birmingham; toastbirmingham.com, and Ferndale; eatattoast.com

SINGLE LOCATION

Mae’s, Pleasant Ridge; maesdetroit.com

SUSHI

Noble Fish, Clawson; noblefish.com

CHEAP EATS

Green Dot Stables, Detroit; greendotstables.com

BURGER, MACOMB COUNTY

Shamrock Pub, Utica; shamrockutica.com

BURGER, OAKLAND COUNTY

Redcoat Tavern, Royal Oak; 248-549-0300, and West Bloomfield Township; 248-865-0500

BURGER, WAYNE COUNTY

Miller’s, Dearborn; millersbar.com

SANDWICH

Mudgie’s, Corktown Detroit; mudgiesdeli.com

RIBS

Slows Bar BQ, Corktown Detroit; slowsbarbq.com

CONEY ISLAND

Lafayette Coney Island, Downtown Detroit; 313-964-8198

SEAFOOD

CITY

Joe Muer Seafood, Downtown Detroit; joemuer.com

SUBURB

Streetside Seafood, Birmingham; streetsideseafood.com

SOUP

CHAIN

Zoup!, zoup.com

LOCAL

Russell Street Deli, Eastern Market, Detroit; russellstreetdeli.com

MICHIGAN WINERY

Black Star Farms, blackstarfarms.com

SOUL FOOD

Beans & Cornbread, Southfield; beanscornbread.com

FISH ’N’ CHIPS

SUBURB

The Lodge Grill and Bar, Keego Harbor; lodgegrillandbar.com

CITY

Scotty Simpson’s, Detroit; scottysfishandchips.com

PIZZA

Buddy’s Pizza, buddyspizza.com

BARBECUE

CITY

Slows Bar BQ, Corktown Detroit; slowsbarbq.com

SUBURB

Union Woodshop, Clarkston; unionwoodshop.com

BLOODY MARY

Vivio’s, Eastern Market, Detroit; viviosbloodymary.com

BAGELS

MULTIPLE LOCATIONS

New York Bagel, newyorkbagel-detroit.com

SINGLE LOCATION

Detroit Institute of Bagels, Detroit; detroitinstituteofbagels.com

CARRYOUT

CITY

Bucharest Grill, bucharestgrill.com

SUBURB

Wild Red Wings & Sandwiches, St. Clair Shores; wildredwings.com

DELI

Steve’s Deli, Bloomfield Township; stevesdeli.com

LOCALLY OWNED BAKERY

CITY

Avalon International Breads, Midtown Detroit; avalonbreads.net

SUBURB

Ackroyd’s Scottish Bakery, Redford Township; ackroydsbakery.com

DECK/OUTDOOR SEATING

CITY

La Dolce Vita, Detroit; ldvrestaurant.net

SUBURB

Townhouse Bistro, Birmingham; eatattownhouse.com

CUPCAKES

MULTIPLE LOCATIONS

Just Baked, justbakedshop.com

SINGLE LOCATION

Taste Love Cupcakes, Royal Oak; tastelovecupcakes.com

COOKIES (TIE)

Sister Pie (Buckwheat Chocolate Chip), Detroit; sisterpie.com
Love & Buttercream, Royal Oak; loveandbuttercream.com

DOUGHNUTS

CITY

Dutch Girl Donut Co., Detroit, 313-368-3020

SUBURB

Daily Dozen, Warren; 586-777-8650

FRENCH FRIES

CHAIN

McDonald’s, mcdonalds.com

INDEPENDENT, CITY

Green Dot Stables, Detroit; greendotstables.com

INDEPENDENT, SUBURB (TIE)

Redcoat Tavern, Royal Oak; 248-549-0300, and West Bloomfield Township; 248-865-0500
Townhouse Bistro, Birmingham; eatattownhouse.com

CLASSIC ARTISAN COCKTAILS

The Sugar House, Corktown Detroit; sugarhousedetroit.com

LOCALLY MADE BEER

CITY

Atwater Brewery, Detroit; atwaterbeer.com

SUBURB

Kuhnhenn Brewing Co., Warren; kbrewery.com

 STATE

Bell’s Brewery, Kalamazoo; bellsbeer.com

 MICHIGAN-MADE WINE

Chateau Grand Traverse, Late Harvest Riesling; cgtwines.com

 CHICKEN WINGS

CHAIN

Buffalo Wild Wings, Multiple Locations; buffalowildwings.com

LOCAL 

Sweetwater Tavern, Detroit; sweetwatertavern.net

 FOOD TRUCK

El Guapo, elguapogrill.com

Edit Module
Edit Module
Edit Module

Hour Detroit Magazine

Edit ModuleShow Tags

Archive »Related Content

Hour Detroit’s Top Docs Party 2015

Hour Detroit celebrated the physicians named on the 2015 Top Docs list at the Top Docs Party on October 22 at the Gem Theatre.

Top Docs List 2017

Top Dentists 2017

Best Dressed 2017

Meet metro Detroit's most stylish NFL player, dentist, nail salon owner, and more

Hour Detroit’s Best of Detroit Party 2017 Recap Video

Hour Detroit brought the Best of Detroit issue to life at the 12th annual Best of Detroit Party on June 23 at Joe Louis Arena.
Edit Module
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Most Popular

  1. Why Abdul El-Sayed's Run for Governor Is for Real
    Can a political rookie from Michigan become America's first Muslim governor?
  2. Female Entrepreneurs Are Staking Their Claim in Detroit
    These three women-owned businesses are unstacking the deck
  3. Michigan’s Craft Distilleries Are Setting Their Sights on Bourbon
    Proof that the best things require patience
  4. Inside the Resurrected Takoi
    The restaurant has survived arson and controversy to claim a top spot in Detroit's culinary scene
  5. The Era of Autonomous Vehicles May Be Here Sooner than Expected
    What does that mean for Detroit's legacy automakers?
  6. Introducing the Nordin Brothers: The Duo Behind the Detroit Design Center
    You may not know their names, but chances are, you've seen their art
  7. The Faces of Michigan Wine: Josh Morgan
    To say that 2017 was a pivotal year for Josh Morgan would be putting it mildly.
  8. Meet the Makers: Pingree Detroit
    The brand is employing veterans to craft upcycled leather totes and journals
  9. It's Game On for Detroit's 'Bar Arcade' Scene
    M-Brew, Pop + Offworld, and Ready Player One pair microbrews with retro video games
  10. What You Need to Know About Oil and Gas Drilling in the Suburbs
    Energy companies are staking out new territory in metro Detroit