Best of Detroit 2014

Thousands of Hour Detroit readers go ‘on the record’ with their picks for the Best of Detroit 2014!



Published:

(page 6 of 8)

PLACE TO BE FITTED FOR A SUIT

CHAIN

Men’s Wearhouse, menswearhouse.com

INDEPENDENT

The Claymore Shop, Birmingham; claymoreshop.com

WOMEN’S CLOTHING

CHAIN

Nordstrom, nordstrom.com

CITY

The Peacock Room, facebook.com/peacockroom

SUBURB (TIE)

Wanderlust, Rochester; 248-652-3300
Guys N Gals, Orchard Lake; 248-851-1260

WOMEN’S EVENING WEAR

CHAIN

Nordstrom, nordstrom.com

INDEPENDENT

Marguerite’s Boutique, West Bloomfield Township; 248-932-5253

FINE ANTIQUES (TIE)

Materials Unlimited, Ypsilanti; materialsunlimited.com
DuMouchelles, Detroit; dumouchelle.com

PLACE FOR ONE-OF-A-KIND DRESSES

CITY

The Peacock Room, facebook.com/peacockroom

SUBURB

Paulina Bh, Birmingham; paulinabh.com

VINTAGE CLOTHING

Lost and Found Vintage, Royal Oak; lostandfoundvintage.com

BIG AND TALL

Destination XL, destinationxl.com

MEN’S CLOTHING

CHAIN

Nordstrom, nordstrom.com

INDEPENDENT

Claymore Shop, Birmingham; claymoreshop.com

ATHLETIC WEAR

Lululemon Athletica, Troy, Ann Arbor, and Birmingham; lululemon.com

LUXURY BED AND TABLE LINENS

A Touch Of Lace, Bloomfield Hills; atouchoflace.com

GIFT-WRAPPING SERVICE

Lisa’s Gift Wrappers, Royal Oak; lisasgiftwrappers.com

CUTTING-EDGE FASHIONS

Tender, Birmingham; tenderbirmingham.com

LINGERIE

Harp’s, Birmingham; harps-lingerie.com

JEANS

Caruso Caruso, Birmingham; carusocaruso.net

CHILDREN’S CLOTHING

It’s So Me Boutique, Utica; itssomeboutique.com

PLACE TO BUY AN ENGAGEMENT RING

SINGLE LOCATION

Miner’s Den, Royal Oak; minersden.com

MULTIPLE LOCATIONS

Tapper’s Diamonds and Fine Jewelry, tappers.com

BRIDAL GOWN

The Wedding Shoppe, Berkley; theweddingshoppe.net

GIFT REGISTRY

Bed Bath & Beyond, bedbathandbeyond.com

PLACE TO BUY BRIDESMAID DRESSES

The Wedding Shoppe, Berkley; theweddingshoppe.net

PLACE TO ORDER WEDDING INVITATIONS

Lace Boutique, Troy; facebook.com/ShopLaceBoutique/info

FURNITURE STORE

Hillside Contemporary Furniture, Bloomfield Hills; hillsidefurniture.com

PLACE TO BUY STATIONERY

Lee’s Specialty, Bloomfield Township; leesspecialty.com

VINTAGE ANTIQUES (TIE)

Materials Unlimited, Ypsilanti; materialsunlimited.com
Oddfellows Antiques, Berkley; oddfellowsantiques.com

ACCESSORIES

Lace Boutique, Troy; 248-740-5500

FARMERS MARKET

CITY

Eastern Market, easternmarket.com

SUBURB

Royal Oak Farmers Market, ci.royal-oak.mi.us

CANDY SHOP

Doc Sweets’ Candy Co., Clawson; docsweets.com

PERSONALIZED SERVICE

Champane’s Wine Cellars, Warren; champanes.com

PLACE TO BUY LOCAL CRAFTS (TIE)

Yellow Door Art Market, Berkley; yellowdoorartmarket.com

The Rust Belt Market, Ferndale; rustbeltmarket.com

PLACE TO BUY A CAKE

Holiday Market, Royal Oak; holiday-market.com

FINE SPIRITS SHOP

Champane’s Wine Cellars, Warren; champanes.com

GIFT SHOP

Catching Fireflies, Berkley and Rochester; catchingfireflies.com

NURSERY/GREENHOUSE

Planterra, West Bloomfield; planterra.com

JEWELER

SINGLE LOCATION

Miner’s Den, Royal Oak; minersden.com

MULTIPLE LOCATIONS

Tapper’s Diamonds and Fine Jewelry, tappers.com

ESTATE JEWELRY

MULTIPLE LOCATIONS

Tapper’s Diamonds and Fine Jewelry, tappers.com

SINGLE LOCATION

Miner’s Den, Royal Oak; minersden.com

STORE FOR PRODUCE (TIE)

Nino Salvaggio International Marketplace, ninosalvaggio.com

Randazzo Fresh Market; randazzofreshmarket.com

PLACE TO BUY APPLIANCES

CHAIN

ABC Warehouse, abcwarehouse.com

LOCAL CHAIN

Sargent Appliance, sargentappliance.com

WINE STORE

MACOMB COUNTY

Champane’s Wine Cellars, Warren; champanes.com

OAKLAND COUNTY

Cloverleaf, Royal Oak; cloverleafwine.com

WAYNE COUNTY (TIE)

Merchant’s Fine Wine, Dearborn; merchantsfinewine.com
Cost Plus Eastern Market, Detroit; 313-259-3845

FABRIC STORE

Haberman Fabrics, Royal Oak; habermanfabrics.com

INDEPENDENT HARDWARE

Frentz & Sons Hardware, Royal Oak; frentzandsons.com

SALVAGE FURNISHINGS

Materials Unlimited, Ypsilanti; materialsunlimited.com

NEW BOOK SELECTION (INDEPENDENT)

The Book Beat, Oak Park; thebookbeat.com

USED BOOKSTORE

John K. King, Downtown Detroit; rarebooklink.com

CLOTHING RESALE/CONSIGNMENT SHOP

Bellocchio Upscale Resale, Royal Oak; bellocchioresale.com

ETHNIC FOOD MARKET

Honey Bee Market La Colmena, Southwest Detroit; honeybeemkt.com

PLACE TO BUY A BICYCLE

CITY

Shinola, shinola.com

SUBURB (TIE)

D&D Bicycles, MULTIPLE LOCATIONS; ddbicyclesandhockey.com
Downtown Ferndale Bike Shop, Ferndale; downtownferndalebikeshop.com

PLACE TO BUY SPORTS EQUIPMENT

MULTIPLE LOCATIONS

Dick’s, dickssportinggoods.com

SINGLE LOCATION

The Varsity Shop, Birmingham; thevarsityshop.com

DETROIT SOUVENIR

The Detroit Shoppe, detroitmovesme.com

OPTICAL SHOP

MULTIPLE LOCATIONS (TIE)

See Eyewear, seeeyewear.com
DOC Optics, docoptics.com

SINGLE LOCATION

Roland Optics, Bloomfield Hills; rolandoptics.com

PLACE TO BUY TOYS

Doll Hospital & Toy Soldier Shop, Berkley; dollhospital.com

SHOPPING DISTRICT

Downtown Birmingham, enjoybirmingham.com

SMOKE SHOP

Churchills, Birmingham and Southfield; churchillsltd.com

PLACE TO BUY ORIGINAL ART (TIE)

BluArch Collection, Birmingham; bluarchcollection.com
David Klein Gallery, Birmingham; dkgallery.com
Robert Kidd Gallery, Birmingham; robertkiddgallery.com

PET SUPPLY

MULTIPLE LOCATIONS

Pet Supplies Plus, petsuppliesplus.com

SINGLE LOCATION

Premier Pet Supply, Beverly Hills; premierpetsupply.com

PLACE TO BUY ELECTRONICS — NONCHAIN

Paulson’s Audio & Video, Farmington Hills; paulsonsav.com

 BEER STORE

Champane’s Wine Cellars, Warren; champanes.com

 COMIC BOOK STORE

Detroit Comics, Ferndale; thedetroitcomics.wordpress.com

Edit Module
Edit Module
Edit Module Edit ModuleShow Tags

Archive »Related Content

Hour Media’s Real Estate All-Star Party 2017

Hour Media's Real Estate All-Stars celebrated at the fourth annual Real Estate All-Star Party presented by MiRealSource at EuroAmerica Design in Troy on April 13, 2017. Guests enjoyed cocktails and appetizers.

Top Chiropractors 2018

Hour Detroit’s Top Docs Party 2015

Hour Detroit celebrated the physicians named on the 2015 Top Docs list at the Top Docs Party on October 22 at the Gem Theatre.

Top Docs List 2017

Top Dentists 2017

Edit Module
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Most Popular

  1. 7 Michigan Breweries Worth a Trip
    Check out these must-visit locations during your summer travels
  2. To Market, to Market
    Michigan Wine & Cider Festival at Eastern Market May 24
  3. Hour Media’s Real Estate All-Star Party 2017
    Hour Media's Real Estate All-Stars celebrated at the fourth annual Real Estate All-Star Party...
  4. Your Guide to Michigan’s Odd and Unusual Festivals
    We rounded up some of the state’s most niche events, celebrating everything from fishflies to...
  5. Meet the Southwest Detroit Pizzeria Serving Sospeso
    PizzaPlex in southwest Detroit is challenging what it means to be a new business on the block
  6. Dry Times: Looking Back 100 Years After Prohibition
    A century ago, Detroit became the first city in the nation to prohibit alcohol
  7. ‘Grazie Mille’ For the Memories
    Adventures abound in Italy with Michigan winemaker, grape growers
  8. An Hour With... Candice S. Miller
    Macomb County Public Works Commissioner
  9. Motherhood in Metro Detroit
    From pre-pregnancy thoughts to developing unconditional love, several local women give a glimpse...
  10. The Gentleman’s Guide to Style
    From grooming to shopping, a comprehensive directory for stylish men in metro Detroit