Best of Detroit 2014

Thousands of Hour Detroit readers go ‘on the record’ with their picks for the Best of Detroit 2014!



Published:

(page 6 of 8)

PLACE TO BE FITTED FOR A SUIT

CHAIN

Men’s Wearhouse, menswearhouse.com

INDEPENDENT

The Claymore Shop, Birmingham; claymoreshop.com

WOMEN’S CLOTHING

CHAIN

Nordstrom, nordstrom.com

CITY

The Peacock Room, facebook.com/peacockroom

SUBURB (TIE)

Wanderlust, Rochester; 248-652-3300
Guys N Gals, Orchard Lake; 248-851-1260

WOMEN’S EVENING WEAR

CHAIN

Nordstrom, nordstrom.com

INDEPENDENT

Marguerite’s Boutique, West Bloomfield Township; 248-932-5253

FINE ANTIQUES (TIE)

Materials Unlimited, Ypsilanti; materialsunlimited.com
DuMouchelles, Detroit; dumouchelle.com

PLACE FOR ONE-OF-A-KIND DRESSES

CITY

The Peacock Room, facebook.com/peacockroom

SUBURB

Paulina Bh, Birmingham; paulinabh.com

VINTAGE CLOTHING

Lost and Found Vintage, Royal Oak; lostandfoundvintage.com

BIG AND TALL

Destination XL, destinationxl.com

MEN’S CLOTHING

CHAIN

Nordstrom, nordstrom.com

INDEPENDENT

Claymore Shop, Birmingham; claymoreshop.com

ATHLETIC WEAR

Lululemon Athletica, Troy, Ann Arbor, and Birmingham; lululemon.com

LUXURY BED AND TABLE LINENS

A Touch Of Lace, Bloomfield Hills; atouchoflace.com

GIFT-WRAPPING SERVICE

Lisa’s Gift Wrappers, Royal Oak; lisasgiftwrappers.com

CUTTING-EDGE FASHIONS

Tender, Birmingham; tenderbirmingham.com

LINGERIE

Harp’s, Birmingham; harps-lingerie.com

JEANS

Caruso Caruso, Birmingham; carusocaruso.net

CHILDREN’S CLOTHING

It’s So Me Boutique, Utica; itssomeboutique.com

PLACE TO BUY AN ENGAGEMENT RING

SINGLE LOCATION

Miner’s Den, Royal Oak; minersden.com

MULTIPLE LOCATIONS

Tapper’s Diamonds and Fine Jewelry, tappers.com

BRIDAL GOWN

The Wedding Shoppe, Berkley; theweddingshoppe.net

GIFT REGISTRY

Bed Bath & Beyond, bedbathandbeyond.com

PLACE TO BUY BRIDESMAID DRESSES

The Wedding Shoppe, Berkley; theweddingshoppe.net

PLACE TO ORDER WEDDING INVITATIONS

Lace Boutique, Troy; facebook.com/ShopLaceBoutique/info

FURNITURE STORE

Hillside Contemporary Furniture, Bloomfield Hills; hillsidefurniture.com

PLACE TO BUY STATIONERY

Lee’s Specialty, Bloomfield Township; leesspecialty.com

VINTAGE ANTIQUES (TIE)

Materials Unlimited, Ypsilanti; materialsunlimited.com
Oddfellows Antiques, Berkley; oddfellowsantiques.com

ACCESSORIES

Lace Boutique, Troy; 248-740-5500

FARMERS MARKET

CITY

Eastern Market, easternmarket.com

SUBURB

Royal Oak Farmers Market, ci.royal-oak.mi.us

CANDY SHOP

Doc Sweets’ Candy Co., Clawson; docsweets.com

PERSONALIZED SERVICE

Champane’s Wine Cellars, Warren; champanes.com

PLACE TO BUY LOCAL CRAFTS (TIE)

Yellow Door Art Market, Berkley; yellowdoorartmarket.com

The Rust Belt Market, Ferndale; rustbeltmarket.com

PLACE TO BUY A CAKE

Holiday Market, Royal Oak; holiday-market.com

FINE SPIRITS SHOP

Champane’s Wine Cellars, Warren; champanes.com

GIFT SHOP

Catching Fireflies, Berkley and Rochester; catchingfireflies.com

NURSERY/GREENHOUSE

Planterra, West Bloomfield; planterra.com

JEWELER

SINGLE LOCATION

Miner’s Den, Royal Oak; minersden.com

MULTIPLE LOCATIONS

Tapper’s Diamonds and Fine Jewelry, tappers.com

ESTATE JEWELRY

MULTIPLE LOCATIONS

Tapper’s Diamonds and Fine Jewelry, tappers.com

SINGLE LOCATION

Miner’s Den, Royal Oak; minersden.com

STORE FOR PRODUCE (TIE)

Nino Salvaggio International Marketplace, ninosalvaggio.com

Randazzo Fresh Market; randazzofreshmarket.com

PLACE TO BUY APPLIANCES

CHAIN

ABC Warehouse, abcwarehouse.com

LOCAL CHAIN

Sargent Appliance, sargentappliance.com

WINE STORE

MACOMB COUNTY

Champane’s Wine Cellars, Warren; champanes.com

OAKLAND COUNTY

Cloverleaf, Royal Oak; cloverleafwine.com

WAYNE COUNTY (TIE)

Merchant’s Fine Wine, Dearborn; merchantsfinewine.com
Cost Plus Eastern Market, Detroit; 313-259-3845

FABRIC STORE

Haberman Fabrics, Royal Oak; habermanfabrics.com

INDEPENDENT HARDWARE

Frentz & Sons Hardware, Royal Oak; frentzandsons.com

SALVAGE FURNISHINGS

Materials Unlimited, Ypsilanti; materialsunlimited.com

NEW BOOK SELECTION (INDEPENDENT)

The Book Beat, Oak Park; thebookbeat.com

USED BOOKSTORE

John K. King, Downtown Detroit; rarebooklink.com

CLOTHING RESALE/CONSIGNMENT SHOP

Bellocchio Upscale Resale, Royal Oak; bellocchioresale.com

ETHNIC FOOD MARKET

Honey Bee Market La Colmena, Southwest Detroit; honeybeemkt.com

PLACE TO BUY A BICYCLE

CITY

Shinola, shinola.com

SUBURB (TIE)

D&D Bicycles, MULTIPLE LOCATIONS; ddbicyclesandhockey.com
Downtown Ferndale Bike Shop, Ferndale; downtownferndalebikeshop.com

PLACE TO BUY SPORTS EQUIPMENT

MULTIPLE LOCATIONS

Dick’s, dickssportinggoods.com

SINGLE LOCATION

The Varsity Shop, Birmingham; thevarsityshop.com

DETROIT SOUVENIR

The Detroit Shoppe, detroitmovesme.com

OPTICAL SHOP

MULTIPLE LOCATIONS (TIE)

See Eyewear, seeeyewear.com
DOC Optics, docoptics.com

SINGLE LOCATION

Roland Optics, Bloomfield Hills; rolandoptics.com

PLACE TO BUY TOYS

Doll Hospital & Toy Soldier Shop, Berkley; dollhospital.com

SHOPPING DISTRICT

Downtown Birmingham, enjoybirmingham.com

SMOKE SHOP

Churchills, Birmingham and Southfield; churchillsltd.com

PLACE TO BUY ORIGINAL ART (TIE)

BluArch Collection, Birmingham; bluarchcollection.com
David Klein Gallery, Birmingham; dkgallery.com
Robert Kidd Gallery, Birmingham; robertkiddgallery.com

PET SUPPLY

MULTIPLE LOCATIONS

Pet Supplies Plus, petsuppliesplus.com

SINGLE LOCATION

Premier Pet Supply, Beverly Hills; premierpetsupply.com

PLACE TO BUY ELECTRONICS — NONCHAIN

Paulson’s Audio & Video, Farmington Hills; paulsonsav.com

 BEER STORE

Champane’s Wine Cellars, Warren; champanes.com

 COMIC BOOK STORE

Detroit Comics, Ferndale; thedetroitcomics.wordpress.com

Edit Module
Edit Module
Edit Module Edit ModuleShow Tags

Archive »Related Content

Hour Detroit’s Best of Detroit Party 2018 Recap Video

On June 29, Hour Detroit brought the Best of Detroit issue to life at the 13th annual Best of Detroit Party at Eastern Market. Guests enjoyed the flavors, sounds, and fashions of Hour Detroit’s Best of Detroit winners, as well as live entertainment from Your Generation, Nuclassica and DJ CAPTN20. The evening was hosted by Evrod Cassimy from WDIV Local 4.

Best of Detroit 2013

Thousands of readers selected their favorites in online voting for Hour Detroit’s 2013 Best of Detroit list. Find out who joined the league of over 500 superheroes in the city!

Top Docs List 2018

Best of Detroit 2018

Our reader's picks for the Best of Detroit winners in food, drink, leisure, people, and services

Best of Detroit 2010

Thousands of readers — the largest number ever — played favorites in online voting for Hour Detroit’s 2010 Best of Detroit list. Check out the 251 winners, and then go play tourist in your own hometown.
Edit Module
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Most Popular

  1. Top Docs List 2018
  2. Memories of Miya
    Citizen Yoga founder, Kacee Must Leeb reflects on her sister’s suicide, its impact on her...
  3. Introducing the Piekie
    These cookie-shaped pies win big on-screen and off
  4. The Sixth Man
    A youth basketball coach teaches lessons on and off the court
  5. Seeking Support
    Like many metro areas across the U.S., finding a therapist in and around Detroit can prove to be...
  6. Therapy in the Digital Age
    New innovations that revolutionize traditional approaches to counseling
  7. Food Recipe: Chili
    Michael Keys, of Red Crown in Grosse Pointe Park, shares his favorite chili recipe
  8. Author's Cuisine
    At M Cantina in Dearborn, Junior Merino is creating a new kind of Mexican cuisine that is...
  9. Mending Migraines
    Nausea, excruciating head pain, sensitivity to light and noise: The oppressiveness of the list of...
  10. Seeing Clearly
    The co-founders behind Genusee on making eyewear with a mission