Best of Detroit 2015

Once upon a time, Hour Detroit readers picked their legendary favorites...



Published:

(page 4 of 9)

No poisoned apples in this bunch. Perhaps a gingerbread man or some magic beans, though.

Restaurant For General Excellence (Tie)

The Mulefoot Gastropub, Imlay City; themulefoot.com

The Root Restaurant & Bar, White Lake; therootrestaurant.com

 

Restaurant Ambience

City

Wright & Co., Downtown Detroit; wrightdetroit.com

Suburb

Tre Monti Ristorante, Troy; tremontitroy.com 

 

Place to Have Dinner Before a Show (Tie)

Mario’s, Detroit; mariosdetroit.com

Roast, Downtown Detroit; roastdetroit.com

 

Place for Nightcaps After the Show (Tie)

The Sugar House, Corktown Detroit; sugarhousedetroit.com 

The Whitney, Midtown Detroit; thewhitney.com

 

View From a Restaurant

Coach Insignia, Downtown Detroit; theepicureangroup.com

 

Sunday Brunch

City 

The Whitney, Midtown Detroit; thewhitney.com

Suburb (Tie)

Social Kitchen and Bar, Birmingham; socialkitchenandbar.com

Toast, Birmingham; toastbirmingham.com, and Ferndale; eatattoast.com

 

Appetizers

City (Tie)

Selden Standard, Midtown Detroit; seldenstandard.com

Wright & Co., Downtown Detroit; wrightdetroit.com

Suburb (Tie)

Bistro 82, Royal Oak; bistro82.com

The Root Restaurant & Bar, White Lake; therootrestaurant.com

 

Attentive Service

Bistro 82, Royal Oak; bistro82.com

 

Beer Selection

City

Hopcat Detroit, Midtown Detroit; hopcat.com/detroit

Suburb

One-Eyed Betty’s, Ferndale; oneeyedbettys.com

Late-Night Dining

City

Bucharest Grill, bucharestgrill.com

Suburb (Tie)

Imperial, Ferndale; facebook.com/imperialonwoodward

Redcoat Tavern, Royal Oak, 248-549-0300; and West Bloomfield Township, 248-865-0500

 

Street-Level Window Seat

City (Tie)

Andiamo Riverfront, Downtown Detroit; andiamoitalia.com

Roast, Downtown Detroit; roastdetroit.com

Suburb

Bistro 82, Royal Oak; bistro82.com

 

Independent Coffeehouse

City 

Great Lakes Coffee, Detroit; greatlakescoffee.com

Suburb 

Commonwealth, Birmingham; gocommonwealth.com

 

Romantic Restaurant (Tie)

The Lark, West Bloomfield Township; thelark.com

Tre Monti Ristorante, Troy; tremontitroy.com

 

Fish Market

Multiple Locations 

Vince & Joe’s, Clinton Township and Shelby Township; vinceandjoes.com 

Single Location 

Superior Fish Company, Royal Oak; superiorfish.com

 

Locally Produced Food Brand

Imerman Cake Company, imermancake.com

 

Ice Cream Parlor

Ray’s Ice Cream, Royal Oak; raysicecream.com

 

Chinese

Hong Hua, Farmington Hills; honghuafinedining.com

 

Place for a Business Lunch

City (Tie)

Detroit Athletic Club, thedac.com

The Dime Store, Detroit; eatdimestore.com

Suburb (Tie)

Beverly Hills Grill, Beverly Hills; beverlyhillsgrill.com

The Capital Grille, Troy; thecapitalgrille.com

Julie James as 'The Witch': Here's a mis-casting for the ages. James— one of five siblings behind Drought ("Best raw juice or smoothie")— is much nicer in person. She might get mad if you suggest they start adding preservatives to their products.

 

French (Tie)

Bistro 82, Royal Oak; bistro82.com

Marais, Grosse Pointe; maraisrestaurant.com 

 

Restaurant Dessert

The Root Restaurant & Bar, White Lake; therootrestaurant.com

 

Wine List

City

Roast, Downtown Detroit; roastdetroit.com

Suburb 

The Lark, West Bloomfield Township; thelark.com 

 

Place to Take Out-Of-Towners

City (Tie)

Selden Standard, Midtown Detroit; seldenstandard.com

Slows Bar BQ, Corktown Detroit; slowsbarbq.com

Suburb 

Vinsetta Garage, Berkley; vinsettagarage.com

 

Business Breakfast

Toast, Birmingham; toastbirmingham.com, and Ferndale; eatattoast.com

 

Greek

Pegasus Taverna, Greektown Detroit and St. Clair Shores; pegasustavernas.com

 

Indian (Tie)

Priya, Troy; priyarestaurant.com

Rangoli, Auburn Hills and Sterling Heights; detroitrangoli.com

 

Korean

Korea Palace, Sterling Heights; koreapalace.virb.com

 

Mexican

City

Mexican Village, Mexicantown/Southwest Detroit; mexicanvillagefood.com

Suburb

El Charro, Fraser; elcharrousa.com

Eastern Market as 'Little Red Riding Hood's Basket and Contents.' Yes, you can get all these items, and Much more, at Eastern Market, voted "Best Farmers Market" in the city

 

Italian

City (Tie)

Giovanni’s, Southwest Detroit; giovannisristorante.com

Roma Café, Detroit; romacafe.com

Suburb

Tre Monti Ristorante, Troy; tremontitroy.com

 

Middle Eastern

Anita’s Kitchen, Ferndale; anitaskitchenonline.com

 

Japanese (Tie)

Noble Fish, Clawson; noblefish.com

Ronin Sushi, Royal Oak; roninsushi.com

 

Thai

Multiple Locations

Sy Thai, sythairestaurant.com

Single Location

Khom Fai, Shelby Township; 586-247-7773

 

Vietnamese

Da Nang, Clawson; danangrestaurant.com

 

Gourmet Market

Multiple Locations — East Side 

Vince & Joe’s, Clinton Township and Shelby Township; vinceandjoes.com

Multiple Locations — West Side

Papa Joe’s Gourmet Market, Birmingham and Rochester; papajoesmarket.com 

Single Location

Holiday Market, Royal Oak; holiday-market.com

 

24-Hour Restaurant

National Coney Island, nationalconeyisland.com 

 

Michigan Winery (Tie)

Black Star Farms, Traverse City; blackstarfarms.com

Chateau Chantal, Traverse City; chateauchantal.com 

 

Steakhouse

City

Prism, Detroit; greektowncasino.com

Suburb 

Clawson Steak House, Clawson; clawsonsteakhouse.com

Burger

Macomb County

Shamrock Pub, Utica; shamrockutica.com

Oakland County

Redcoat Tavern, Royal Oak, 248-549-0300; and West Bloomfield Township, 248-865-0500

Wayne County

Miller’s, Dearborn; millersbar.com

 

Vegan

City

Detroit Vegan Soul, West Village Detroit; detroitvegansoul.com

Suburb

Inn Season Café, Royal Oak; theinnseasoncafe.com

 

Creative Breakfast

Multiple Locations

Toast, Birmingham; toastbirmingham.com, and Ferndale; eatattoast.com

Single Location

Mae’s, Pleasant Ridge; maesdetroit.com

 

Vegetarian

City

Seva, Midtown Detroit; sevarestaurant.com

Suburb

Inn Season Café, Royal Oak; theinnseasoncafe.com

 

Gluten-Free Menu

Wild Red Wings & Sandwiches, St. Clair Shores; wildredwings.com

 

Cheap Eats

Green Dot Stables, Detroit; greendotstables.com

 

Sandwich

Mudgie’s, Corktown Detroit; mudgiesdeli.com

 

Ribs

Slows Bar BQ, Corktown Detroit; slowsbarbq.com

 

Coney Island

Lafayette Coney Island, Downtown Detroit; 313-964-8198

 

Sushi (Tie)

Noble Fish, Clawson; noblefish.com

Ronin, Royal Oak; roninsushi.com

 

Seafood

City 

Joe Muer Seafood, Downtown Detroit; joemuer.com

Suburb 

Streetside Seafood, Birmingham; streetsideseafood.com

Locally Owned Bakery

City

Avalon International Breads, Midtown Detroit; avalonbreads.net

Suburb

Love and Buttercream, Royal Oak; loveandbuttercream.com 

 

Fish 'N' Chips

City

Scotty Simpson’s, scottysfishandchips.com

Suburb

The Lodge Grill and Bar, Keego Harbor; lodgegrillandbar.com

 

Pancakes

The Original Pancake House, multiple locations; originalpancakehouse.com

 

Soul Food

Beans & Cornbread, Southfield; beanscornbread.com

 

Soup

Independent

Russell Street Deli, Eastern Market, Detroit; russellstreetdeli.com

Chain

Zoup!, zoup.com

 

Pizza

Multiple Locations

Buddy’s Pizza, buddyspizza.com 

Single Location

Supino Pizzeria, Eastern Market, Detroit; supinopizzeria.com

 

Deli

Steve’s Deli, Bloomfield Township; stevesdeli.com

 

Barbecue

Multiple Locations

Bad Brads BBQ, badbradsbbq.net 

City 

Slows Bar BQ, Corktown Detroit; slowsbarbq.com

 

French Fries 

Independent — City (Tie)

Green Dot Stables, Detroit; greendotstables.com

Hopcat Detroit, hopcat.com/detroit

Independent — Suburb 

Townhouse Bistro, Birmingham; eatattownhouse.com

Chain

McDonald’s, mcdonalds.com 

 

Bagels

Multiple Locations

New York Bagel, newyorkbagel-detroit.com

Single Location

Detroit Institute of Bagels, Detroit; detroitinstituteofbagels.com

 

Cupcakes

Taste Love Cupcakes, Royal Oak; tastelovecupcakes.com

 

Cookies

Love & Buttercream, Royal Oak; loveandbuttercream.com

 

Doughnuts

City 

Dutch Girl Donuts, 313-368-3020

Suburb 

Donut Cutter, Berkley; 248-542-4653

 

Classic Artisan Cocktails

City

The Sugar House, Corktown Detroit; sugarhousedetroit.com

Suburb

The Oakland Art Novelty Co., Ferndale; theoaklandferndale.com 

Dave Kwiatkowski as 'The Woodsman': Kwiatkowski sharpened his skills to kill the Big Bad Wolf by slicing garnishes at The Sugar House ("Best Classic Artisan Cocktails" and "Place for NIghtcaps After the Show"). He's also a partner in Wright & Co. and Café 78.

 

Bloody Mary

Vivio’s, Eastern Market, Detroit; viviosbloodymary.com

 

Locally Made Beer 

City 

Atwater Brewery, atwaterbeer.com

Suburb 

Griffin Claw, Birmingham; griffinclawbrewingcompany.com

 

State

Bell’s Brewery, Kalamazoo; bellsbeer.com

 

Michigan-Made Wine 

Chateau Grand Traverse Late Harvest Riesling, cgtwines.com

 

Chicken Wings

Independent 

Sweetwater Tavern, Detroit; sweetwatertavern.net

Chain

Buffalo Wild Wings, buffalowildwings.com

 

Deck/Outdoor Seating

City 

La Dolce Vita, ldvrestaurant.net

Suburb 

Townhouse Bistro, Birmingham; eatattownhouse.com 

 

Carryout

City

Bucharest Grill, Downtown Detroit, bucharestgrill.com

Suburb

Motor City Meatballs, Warren; mymeatballkitchen.com

 

Food Truck (Tie)

El Guapo, elguapogrill.com

Mac Shack, macshackmichigan.com

 

 

New Categories

 

Pop-Up Dining Experience

Single Location

Revolver, Hamtramck; revolverhamtramck.com

Moving Target (Tie)

Dinner Club (Matt Baldridge), dinnerclubpopup.com

Guns + Butter, (Craig Lieckfelt) gunsandbutter.com

 

Raw Juice or Smoothie (Tie)

Beyond Juice, beyondjuicedetroit.com

Drought, droughtjuice.com

 

Locally Made Spirits (Tie)

Two James Spirits, Corktown Detroit; twojames.com

Valentine Distilling, Ferndale; valentinedistilling.com

Edit Module
Edit Module

BEST OF DETROIT 2015 SPONSORS

Comerica
Tell
Oakland MRI
Danielson Endodontics
Nth Degree Fitness
Bombshell Brands Hot Rabbit
Cauley Ferrari
Davy Jones Rum
Ginstache
Josh Cellars
Licor43
Luksusowa
ROAK
Edit Module Edit ModuleShow Tags

Archive »Related Content

Best of Detroit 2010

Thousands of readers — the largest number ever — played favorites in online voting for Hour Detroit’s 2010 Best of Detroit list. Check out the 251 winners, and then go play tourist in your own hometown.

Best of Detroit 2017

Our reader's picks for the Best of Detroit winners in food, drink, leisure, people, and services

Real Estate All Stars 2017

Hour Media’s Real Estate All-Star Party 2017

Hour Media's Real Estate All-Stars celebrated at the fourth annual Real Estate All-Star Party presented by MiRealSource at EuroAmerica Design in Troy on April 13, 2017. Guests enjoyed cocktails and appetizers.

Top Chiropractors 2017