Best of Detroit 2015

Once upon a time, Hour Detroit readers picked their legendary favorites...



Published:

(page 7 of 9)

Need a pair of glass slippers, a golden egg, a flying carpet? Here's where to find them.

Place To Be Fitted For A Suit

Independent 

The Claymore Shop, Birmingham; claymoreshop.com

Chain 

Nordstrom, nordstrom.com 

 

Women’s Clothing

City

The Peacock Room, facebook.com/peacockroom  

Suburb (Tie)

Hips Resale Boutique, Clawson; havehips.com

Wanderlust, Rochester; wanderlustmainstreet.com

Chain 

Nordstrom, nordstrom.com

 

Women’s Evening Wear

Independent 

Marguerite Boutique, West Bloomfield Township; margueriteboutique.com

Chain (Tie)

Neiman Marcus, neimanmarcus.com

Nordstrom, nordstrom.com

 

Fine Antiques (Tie) 

Dumouchelles, Detroit; dumouchelle.com

Materials Unlimited, Ypsilanti; materialsunlimited.com

 

Place For One-Of-A-Kind Dresses  

City

The Peacock Room, facebook.com/peacockroom  

Suburb

Hips Resale Boutique, Clawson; havehips.com

 

Vintage Clothing 

Lost And Found Vintage, Royal Oak; lostandfoundvintage.com

 

Big And Tall 

Destination XL, destinationxl.com

 

Men’s Clothing 

Independent (Tie)

Claymore Shop, Birmingham; claymoreshop.com

The Shirt Box, Farmington Hills; theshirtbox.com

Chain 

Nordstrom, nordstrom.com

 

Athletic Wear 

Lululemon Athletica, Ann Arbor, Birmingham, and Troy; lululemon.com

 

Luxury Bed And Table Linens 

Cristions Fine Linen & Down, Birmingham; 248-723-3337

Gift-Wrapping Service 

Lisa’s Gift Wrappers, Royal Oak; lisasgiftwrappers.com

 

Cutting-Edge Fashions (Tie)

Guys N Gals, West Bloomfield Township; 248-851-1260

Tender, Birmingham; tenderbirmingham.com

 

Lingerie 

Bra-Vo Intimates, Royal Oak; bravointimates.com

 

Jeans 

Caruso Caruso, Birmingham; carusocaruso.net

Jeffrey Imerman as 'The Prince': Even though he also plays the Big Bad Wolf, Imerman is really a prince of a guy. His Imerman Cake Company ("Best Locally Produced Food Brand") also started and funds the Imerman's Angels cancer victim support group.

 

Children’s Clothing 

Guys N Gals, West Bloomfield Township; 248-851-1260

 

Place To Buy An Engagement Ring

Multiple Locations 

Tapper’s Diamonds and Fine Jewelry, tappers.com 

Single Location 

Ahee Jewelers, Grosse Pointe; ahee.com

 

Bridal Gown 

The Wedding Shoppe, Berkley; theweddingshoppe.net

 

Gift Registry 

Bed Bath & Beyond, bedbathandbeyond.com

 

Place To Buy Bridesmaid Dresses

The Wedding Shoppe, Berkley; theweddingshoppe.net 

 

Place To Order Wedding Invitations

Lee’s Specialty, Bloomfield Township; leesspecialty.com

Furniture Store 

Hillside Contemporary Furniture, Bloomfield Hills; hillsidefurniture.com

 

Place To Buy Stationery 

Lee’s Specialty, Bloomfield Township; leesspecialty.com

 

Vintage Antiques 

Materials Unlimited, Ypsilanti; materialsunlimited.com

 

Accessories (Tie)

Capricious, Grosse Pointe; capriciousgrossepointe.com

Lace Boutique, Troy; 248-740-5500

 

Farmers Market  

City 

Eastern Market, easternmarket.com

Suburb 

Royal Oak Farmers Market, ci.royal-oak.mi.us

 

Candy Shop 

Doc Sweets’ Candy Company, Clawson; docsweets.com

 

Personalized Service 

Champane’s Wine Cellars, Warren; champanes.com

 

Place To Buy Local Crafts 

The Rust Belt Market, Ferndale; rustbeltmarket.com

 

Place To Buy A Cake  

Holiday Market, Royal Oak; holiday-market.com

Nursery/Greenhouse 

Multiple Locations

English Gardens, englishgardens.com

Single Location (tie)

Bordine’s, Rochester Hills; bordines.com

Planterra, West Bloomfield; planterra.com

Store For Produce (Tie)

Nino Salvaggio International Marketplace, Clinton Township, St. Clair Shores, and Troy; ninosalvaggio.com

Vince And Joe’s Gourmet Markets, Clinton Township and Shelby Township; vinceandjoes.com 

 

Place To Buy Appliances 

Local Chain

Sargent Appliance, sargentappliance.com

Chain (Tie)

ABC Warehouse, abcwarehouse.com

Sears, sears.com

 

Wine Store

Macomb County 

Champane’s Wine Cellars, Warren; champanes.com

Oakland County 

Hills Fine Wine And Spirits, Bloomfield Hills; hillsfinewine.com

Wayne County (Tie)

Cost Plus Eastern Market, Detroit; 313-259-3845

Merchant’s Fine Wine, Dearborn; merchantsfinewine.com

 

Fine Spirits Shop 

Champane’s Wine Cellars, Warren; champanes.com

 

Gift Shop 

Catching Fireflies, Berkley and Rochester; catchingfireflies.com

 

Jeweler 

Multiple Locations 

Tapper’s Diamonds And Fine Jewelry, tappers.com

Single Location (Tie)

Ahee Jewelers, Grosse Pointe; ahee.com

Miner’s Den, Royal Oak; minersden.com

 

Estate Jewelry 

David Wachler And Sons, Birmingham; wachlerjewelers.com

 

Fabric Store

Haberman Fabrics, Royal Oak; habermanfabrics.com

 

Independent Hardware 

Frentz & Sons Hardware, Royal Oak; frentzandsons.com

 

Salvage Furnishings 

Materials Unlimited, Ypsilanti; materialsunlimited.com

 

Place To Buy Toys (Tie)

Doll Hospital & Toy Soldier Shop, Berkley; dollhospital.com

Toyology, Royal Oak; toyologytoys.com

 

New Book Selection — Independent 

The Book Beat, Oak Park; thebookbeat.com

 

Used Bookstore

John K. King, Downtown Detroit; rarebooklink.com

 

Clothing Resale/Consignment Shop

Consignment Clothiers, Northville; consignmentclothiers.com

Shopping District 

Downtown Birmingham, enjoybirmingham.com

 

Detroit Souvenir (Tie)

The Detroit Shoppe, Troy; detroitmovesme.com

Pure Detroit, multiple locations; puredetroit.com

 

Ethnic Food Market (Tie)

Cantoro Italian Market And Trattoria, Plymouth; cantoromarket.com

Honey Bee Market La Colmena, Southwest Detroit; honeybeemkt.com

 

Place To Buy A Bicycle

City 

Shinola, Midtown Detroit; shinola.com

Suburb 

Downtown Ferndale Bike Shop, Ferndale; downtown-bikeshop.com

 

Place To Buy Sports Equipment 

Independent 

The Varsity Shop, Birmingham; thevarsityshop.com 

Chain 

Dick’s, dickssportinggoods.com

 

Optical Shop 

Independent 

Roland Optics, Bloomfield Hills; rolandoptics.com

Chain 

See Eyewear, seeeyewear.com

 

Smoke Shop 

Churchills, Birmingham and West Bloomfield; churchillscigarbar.com

 

Place To Buy Original Art (Tie) 

Bluarch Collection, Birmingham; bluarchcollection.com

The Rust Belt Market, Ferndale; rustbeltmarket.com

 

Pet Supply

Multiple Locations

Pet Supplies Plus, petsuppliesplus.com

Single Location 

Premier Pet Supply, Beverly Hills; premierpetsupply.com

 

Place To Buy Electronics — Independent

American Jewelry And Loan, Detroit; pawndetroit.com

 

Beer Store 

Macomb County

Champane’s Wine Cellars, Warren; champanes.com

Oakland County

8 Degrees Plato, Ferndale; 8degreesplato.com

Wayne County

Discount Drinks, Wyandotte; discountdrinksetc.com

 

Comic Book Store 

Detroit Comics, Ferndale; thedetroitcomics.wordpress.com

 

New Categories

 

Auto Dealership

George Matick Chevrolet, Redford Township; matickchevy.com

 

Place To Buy Organic Produce

Whole Foods, wholefoodsmarket.com

 

Place To Buy Musical Instruments

Independent

McCourt’s Music, Berkley; mccourtsmusic.com 

Chain

Guitar Center, guitarcenter.com

Edit Module
Edit Module

BEST OF DETROIT 2015 SPONSORS

Comerica
Tell
Oakland MRI
Danielson Endodontics
Nth Degree Fitness
Bombshell Brands Hot Rabbit
Cauley Ferrari
Davy Jones Rum
Ginstache
Josh Cellars
Licor43
Luksusowa
ROAK
Edit Module Edit ModuleShow Tags

Archive »Related Content

Hour Detroit’s Best Dressed Fashion Show presented by Somerset Collection 2016

Metro Detroit’s most fashionable attended Hour Detroit's Best Dressed Fashion Show presented by Somerset Collection on September 29, 2016 at The Fillmore Detroit.

Hour Detroit’s Best Dressed Fashion Show Presented by Somerset Collection 2015

Metro Detroit’s most fashionable attended Hour Detroit's Best Dressed Fashion Show Presented by Somerset Collection benefiting the DIA’s Founders Junior Council on September 24 at The Fillmore.

Top Docs List 2016

2016 Best Dressed List

This year’s picks come from all over the metro Detroit map — from the entertainment industry and sports world to boardrooms and courtrooms

Top Dentists 2016