Do Good

The Greater Detroit Philanthropy Awards are back with eight new recipients
Do Good
Photograph Courtesy of iStock

Donors, fundraising professionals, and volunteers will shine at the 2018 Philanthropy Day Awards. Hosted by the Association of Fundraising Professionals Greater Detroit Chapter, the awards recognize the works of local philanthropists. Ahead of the Nov. 8 ceremony at The Henry in Dearborn, Give Detroit introduces this year’s honorees.

Max M. Fisher Award for Outstanding Philanthropist

Ronald and Eileen Weiser, nominated by University of Michigan-Dearborn

Nominated for their decades of service and generous gifts, University of Michigan alums Ambassador Ronald (’66) and Eileen Weiser (’75), have contributed over $80 million to pediatric brain cancer research, food allergy advocacy, and countless other initiatives.

See our exclusive interview with Ronald and Eileen Weiser, here

Edmund T. Ahee Jewel Award for Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser

Karen Colina Wilson Smithbauer, nominated by the Autism Alliance of Michigan

Karen Colina Wilson Smithbauer is an advocate for children and families. She contributes to The Autism Alliance of Michigan, First Step, Starfish Family Services, and The Guidance Center.

See our exclusive interview with Karen Colina Wilson Smithbauer, here

Outstanding Corporation Award

JPMorgan Chase, nominated by Southwest Solutions

JPMorgan Chase has commited to investing $150 million toward Detroit’s economic recovery by 2019. In addition to supporting minority-owned small businesses, the corporation has financed projects to improve the city’s infrastructure, neighborhoods, and transportation systems.

See our exclusive interview with John Carter, the president of JPMorgan Chase’s Michigan Market, here

Outstanding Foundation Award

William Davidson Foundation, nominated by Detroit Symphony Orchestra

The William Davidson Foundation, established in 2005, honors the charitable legacy of its namesake by supporting organizations like the Detroit Police Athletic League, Hillel Day School, the Michigan Opera Theatre, and the Detroit Symphony Orchestra.

See our exclusive interview with President and CEO of the foundation, Darin McKeever, here

Dr. John S. Lore Award for Outstanding Fundraising Executive

Tracy Utech, nominated by Wayne State University

Since beginning her fundraising career in 1998, Tracy Utech has been an asset to both Oakland University and Wayne State University, leading campaigns and mentoring professionals in her field. Today, she serves as Wayne State’s associate vice president for principal gifts.

See our exclusive interview with Tracy Utech, here

Sparky Anderson Award for Youth in Philanthropy

Detroit Feedback Loop, nominated by Wayne State University

Founded in 2017 by Wayne State University students Nicholas Ang and Camilla Cascardo, Detroit Feedback Loop is committed to reducing hunger and food waste. By transporting excess safe-to-eat food from cafeterias and restaurants, it has provided 7,500 meals to local residents.

See our exclusive interview with Nicholas Ang and Camila Cascardo, here

Neal Shine Award for Media Commitment to Philanthropy

Rich Homberg, nominated by Detroit Public Television

As President and CEO of Detroit Public Television, Rich Homberg’s commitment to the community is far-reaching. He has propelled DPTV to new heights, contributed to numerous nonprofits, and founded the Media and Community Stakeholders Group of the Michigan Roundtable for Diversity and Inclusion.

See our exclusive interview with Rich Homberg, here

George W. Romney Award for Lifetime Achievement in Volunteerism

Allan Gilmour, nominated by Wayne State University

For decades, former Vice Chairman and CFO of Ford Motor Co. Allan Gilmour has contributed his time, talent, and financial resources to groups across the metro Detroit community, including Wayne State University, Affirmations, and Starfish Family Services.

See our exclusive interview with Allan Gilmour, here

Give Detroit sat down with each honoree for more on their work and the causes that inspire them. Visit for a weekly series of interviews with the award winners.