Best of Detroit 2010

119462

Thousands of readers — the largest number ever — played favorites in online voting for Hour Detroit’s 2010 Best of Detroit list. Check out the 251 winners, and then go play tourist in your own hometown.


Go directly to: Food & Drink | Shopping | Media | Etc. | Services | People | Leisure

Restaurant for general excellence:

Roast, in the Westin Book Cadillac, Detroit; roastdetroit.com.

Restaurant ambience:

 Ristorante Café Cortina, Farmington Hills;
cafecortina.com.

View from a restaurant:

Coach Insignia, atop the Marriott Renaissance Center, Detroit;
mattprenticerg.com.

Dinner before a show:

Mario’s, Midtown Detroit;
mariosdetroit.com.

Nightcaps after the show:

The Whitney, Midtown Detroit; thewhitney.com.

Dessert (two-way tie):

Just Baked,
(cupcakes, five locations); justbakedshop.com.
Astoria Bakery,
Royal Oak; astoriapastryshop.com.

Fish market:

Superior Fish, Royal Oak; 248-541-4632, superiorfish.com.

Gourmet market:

Oakland County:

Papa Joe’s; Birmingham, 248-723-9400 Rochester, 248-853-6263, papajoesmarket.com.

Macomb County:

Vince & Joe’s, Clinton Township; 586-263-7870, Shelby Township; 586-786-9230, vinceandjoes.com.

Appetizers:

Small Plates, Detroit; 313-963-0497,
smallplates.com.

Sunday brunch:

Beverly Hills Grill, Beverly Hills; 248-642-2355,
beverlyhillsgrill.com.

Pancakes:

Chain:

The Original Pancake House (four Michigan locations); originalpancakehouse.com.

Local:

Toast, Birmingham; 248-258-6278,
and Ferndale; 248-398-0444.

Margarita:

Monterrey Cantina, Royal Oak; 248-545-1940.

Martini:

Goodnite Gracie Jazz & Martini Bar, Royal Oak, Ferndale, Ann Arbor; goodnitegracie.com.

Wine list:

Roast, in the Westin Book Cadillac, Detroit; roastdetroit.com.

Restaurant/Bar beer selection :

The Berkley Front, Berkley; 248-547-3331.

Window seat:

Coach Insignia, atop the Marriott Renaissance Center, Detroit; mattprenticerg.com.

Business lunch:

The Capital Grille, Troy; thecapitalgrille.com.

Locally produced food brand (three-way tie):

Better Made; bmchips.com.
Garden Fresh Gourmet; gardenfreshsalsa.com.
Kelly’s Karamels; kellyskaramels.com.

Late-night dining (three-way tie):

Redcoat Tavern, Royal Oak; 248-549-0300,
West Bloomfield Township; 248-865-0500.
National Coney Island, 21 locations;
nationalconeyisland.com.
Lafayette Coney Island,Detroit; 313-964-8198.

Attentive service:

Ristorante Café Cortina, Farmington Hills;
248-474-3033, cafecortina.com.

Ice-cream parlor:

Ray’s Ice Cream, Royal Oak; 248-549-5256, raysicecream.com..

Romantic restaurant:

Ristorante Café Cortina, Farmington Hills;
248-474-3033, cafecortina.com.

Pizza:

Local chain:

Buddy’s; buddyspizza.com.

Local (two locations):

Tomatoes Apizza; tomatoesapizza.com

Hamburger:

Redcoat Tavern, Royal Oak; 248-549-0300,
West Bloomfield Township; 248-865-0500.

Chinese:

Chain:

 P.F. Chang’s; pfchangs.com.

Non-chain:

Mon Jin Lau, Troy; 248-689-2332,
monjinlau.com.

Independent coffeehouse:

Bean & Leaf Café, Royal Oak; 248-586-9602 mybeanandleaf.com

Japanese:

Chain:

Benihana; three locations, benihana.com.

Non-Chain:

Little Tree Sushi Bar, Royal Oak; 248-586-0994.

Korean:

New Seoul Garden, Southfield; 248-827-1600, newseoulgarden.com

Mexican:

Mexican Village, Detroit; 313-237-0333, Utica; 586- 254-2290, mexicanvillagefood.com.

Vegetarian menu:

Inn Season Café, Royal Oak; 248-547-7916, theinnseasoncafe.com.

Thai:

Sy Thai, Birmingham; 248-258-9830.

Middle Eastern:

Local chain:

Palm Palace, three locations; palmpalace.com.

Single location:

Phoenicia, Birmingham; 248-644-3122, phoeniciabirmingham.com.

24-hour restaurant:

National Coney Island, 21 locations;
nationalconeyisland.com.

Steakhouse:

Roast, in the Westin Book Cadillac, Detroit; roastdetroit.com.

Breakfast:

Toast, Birmingham; 248-258-6278,
and Ferndale; 248-398-0444.

Seafood:

Streetside Seafood, Birmingham; 248-645-9123, streetsideseafood.com.

Sushi:

Noble Fish, Clawson; 248-585-2314,
noblefish.com.

Soup:

Chain:

Zoup!; zoup.com.

Non-chain:

Russell Street Deli,Eastern Market, Detroit; 313-567-2900, russellstreetdeli.com.

Michigan winery (two-way tie):

Black Star Farms; blackstarfarms.com.
Leelanau Cellars; leelanaucellars.com.

Soul food:

Beans & Cornbread, Southfield; 248-208-1680, beanscornbread.com.

Fish & chips:

The Lodge Bar & Grill, Keego Harbor; 248-683-5458, lodgegrillandbar.com.

Cheap eats:

Leo’s Coney Island; leosconeyisland.com.

Ribs:

Slows Bar BQ, Detroit; 313-962-9828, slowsbarbq.com.

Coney island:

Chain:

Leo’s; leosconeyisland.com.

Local:

Athens Coney Island, Royal Oak; 248-549-1488, athensconeyisland.com.

Carryout:

Dish, Detroit; dishdetroit.biz.

Deli:

Steve’s Deli, Bloomfield Township;
248-932-0800, stevesdeli.com.

Doughnuts:

Local:

Daily Dozen, Warren; 586-777-8650.

Chain:

Dunkin’ Donuts; dunkindonuts.com.

Bagels:

New York Bagel Co., Ferndale; 248-548-2580; Oak Park, 248-967-3919; Southfield, 248-559-6591; West Bloomfield Township; 248-851-9210.

Microbrewery:

Woodward Avenue Brewers, Ferndale; 248-546-3696, thewabsite.com.

Italian:

Local chain:

Andiamo, eight locations; andiamoitalia.com.

Single location:

Ristorante Café Cortina, Farmington Hills;
248-474-3033, cafecortina.com.

Greek:

Pegasus Taverna, Detroit; 313-964-6800,
pegasusdetroit.com.

Indian restaurant:

Priya, Troy; 248-269-0100.

French (two-way tie):

What Crêpe?, Royal Oak; 248-629-9391, whatcrepe.com.
The Lark, West Bloomfield Township; 248-661-4466, thelark.com.

 


 

Go directly to: Food & Drink | Shopping | Media | Etc. | Services | People | Leisure

Women’s clothing store:

Local:

Tender, Birmingham; 248-258-0212, tenderbirmingham.com.

Chain:

Nordstrom; nordstrom.com.

Fitted for a suit:

Chain:

Nordstrom; nordstrom.com.

Local:

Claymore Shop, Birmingham; 248-642-7755, claymoreshop.com.

Women’s evening wear:

Chain:

Nordstrom; nordstrom.com.

Local:

Tender, Birmingham; 248-258-0212, tenderbirmingham.com.

Place to buy jeans:

Caruso Caruso, Birmingham; 248-645-5151, carusocaruso.net.

Shopping place for cutting-edge fashion (two-way tie):

Linda Dresner, Birmingham; 248-642-4999, lindadresner.com.
Tender, Birmingham; 248-258-0212, tenderbirmingham.com.

One-of-a-kind dress:

Tender, Birmingham; 248-258-0212, tenderbirmingham.com.

Shopping for local crafts:

Catching Fireflies, Berkley; 248-336-2030, and Rochester; 258-650-3318, catchingfireflies.com.

Cosmetic counter:

MAC; maccosmetics.com.

Lingerie:

Harp’s Lingerie, Birmingham; 248-642-2555.

Antiques store:

Oddfellows Antiques, Berkley; 248-399- 6098, oddfellowsantiques.com.

Vintage clothing:

Lost and Found, Royal Oak; 248-548-6154, lostandfoundvintage.com.

Men’s clothing store:

Chain:

Nordstrom; nordstrom.com.

Local:

Claymore Shop, Birmingham; 248-642-7755, claymoreshop.com.

Shopping for athletic wear:

Lululemon Athletica, Troy; 248-649-6267, lululemon.com.

Bridal:

Roma Sposa Atelier, Birmingham; 248-723-4300, romasposa.com.

Farmers market:

Eastern Market, Detroit; detroiteasternmarket.com.

Gift wrapper:

Local:

Lisa’s Gift Wrappers, Royal Oak; 248-547-9094, lisasgiftwrappers.com.

Chain:

Macy’s; macys.com.

Gift registry:

Macy’s; macys.com.

Engagement ring:

Miner’s Den, Royal Oak; 248-585-6950, minersden.com.

Buy a cake:

Holiday Market, Royal Oak; 248-541-1414,
holiday-market.com.

Wine store:

Champane’s Wine Cellar & International Marketplace, Warren; 586-978-9463, champanes.com.

Fine spirits:

Champane’s Wine Cellar & International Marketplace, Warren; 586-978-9463, champanes.com.

Jeweler (two-way tie):

Miner’s Den, Royal Oak; 248-585-6950, minersden.com.
Tapper’s Diamonds and Fine Jewelry;
West Bloomfield Township; 248-932-7700, Novi;
248-465-1800, tappers.com.

 

Produce market:

Nino Salvaggio International Marketplace, three locations; ninosalvaggio.com.

Buy a bicycle:

American Cycle & Fitness/Trek, six locations; americancycleandfitness.com.

Used vinyl:

Record Time, Roseville; 586-775-1550,
recordtime.com.

Candy shop:

Doc Sweets’ Candy Shop, Clawson; 248-597-1051, docsweets.com.

Children’s clothing :

Love Child, Royal Oak; 248-545-5683.

Lunch while shopping (four-way tie):

California Pizza Kitchen; cpk.com.
J. Alexander’s; jalexanders.com.
Olga’s Kitchen; olgas.com.
Panera Bread; panerabread.com.

Accessories store:

Lolly Ella, West Bloomfield Township; 248-851-3325, lollyella.com.

New book selection:

Book Beat, Oak Park; 248-968-1190, thebookbeat.com.

Used bookstore:

John King, Detroit; 313-961-0622,
rarebooklink.com.

Furniture store:

Art Van; artvan.com

Furnish a baby room:

Babies R US; babiesrus.com.

Detroit-brand car model:

 Ford Mustang.

Detroit-brand automaker:

Ford.

Detroit-brand car division:

 Chevrolet.

Gift shop:

Catching Fireflies, Berkley; 248-336-2030, and Rochester; 248-650-3318, catchingfireflies.com.

Nursery:

English Gardens, seven locations;
englishgardens.com.

Greeting card:

Write Impressions, Royal Oak; 248-541-8921, writeimpressions-mi.com.

Hardware:

Frentz & Sons Hardware, Royal Oak; 248-544-8111, frentzandsons.com.

Electronics (three-way tie):

Paulson’s Audio & Video,
Farmington Hills; 248-553-4100, paulsonsav.com.
Civic Audio, Utica; 888-314-1896, civicaudio.net.
Hawthorne Home Appliance & Electronics, Birmingham; 248-644-2200, hawthorneonlinestore.com.

Place to buy sports equipment:

Chain:

Dicks Sporting Goods, dickssportinggoods.com.

Local:

Varsity Shop, Birmingham; 248-646-4466, thevarsityshop.com.

Optical:

S.E.E.; seeoptical.com.

Toy store:

Adventure in Toys, Birmingham; 248-646-5550.

Art gallery (three-way tie):

Detroit Artists Market, Midtown Detroit; 313-832-8540, detroitartistsmarket.org.
Robert Kidd Gallery, Birmingham; 248-642-3909, robertkiddgallery.com.
Art Leaders Gallery, West Bloomfield Township; 248-539-0262, artleaders.com.

Shopping district:

Downtown Birmingham, enjoybirmingham.com.

Resale/consignment shop:

Bellocchio Upscale Resale, Royal Oak; 248-541-8025, bellocchioresale.com.

Detroit souvenir:

Down with Detroit Apparel, 313-759-1555, downwithdetroit.com.

Estate jeweler:

Miner’s Den, Royal Oak; 248-585-6950, minersden.com.

 


 

Go directly to: Food & Drink | Shopping | Media | Etc. | Services | People | Leisure

Local sportscaster:

Bernie Smilovitz, WDIV-TV Channel 4.

Sports play-by-play:

George Blaha (Pistons), Fox Sports Detroit TV, 97.1-FM/950-AM radio.

Local newspaper:

Detroit Free Press; freep.com.

Local radio station:

FM: 101.9 WDET.
AM: 760 WJR. 

Local TV newscast:

WDIV-TV, Channel 4.

Local radio news:

FM: 101.9 WDET.
AM: 760 WJR.

Radio playlist:

DOUG 93.1-FM.

Media Web site:

Clickondetroit.com.

Female anchor:

Rhonda Walker, WDIV-TV, Channel 4.

 

Local talk-radio host:

FM: Drew and Mike, 101.1 WRIF.
AM: Frank Beckmann, 760 WJR.

Traffic:

Erin Nicole, WXYZ-TV, Channel 7.

Local weathercaster:

Chuck Gaidica, WDIV-TV, Channel 4.

Radio DJ:

Mojo, 95.5 WKQI-FM.

Radio voice:

FM: Dick Purtan, (retired), 104.1 WOMC.
AM: Paul W. Smith, 760 WJR.

Male columnist:

Mitch Albom; Detroit Free Press.

Female columnist:

Rochelle Riley, Detroit Free Press.

Male anchor:

Devin Scillian, WDIV-TV, Channel 4.

 


 

Go directly to: Food & Drink | Shopping | Media | Etc. | Services | People | Leisure

Private club:

Detroit Athletic Club, Detroit; thedac.com.

Historically significant building :

The Guardian, downtown Detroit.

Contemporary building:

Renaissance Center, downtown Detroit.

Coveted job:

Mayor of Detroit.

Best loft building:

Willys Overland Lofts, Midtown Detroit; 313-832-2000, willysoverlandlofts.com..

Hotel:

Suburban:

The Townsend Hotel, Birmingham; 248-642-7900; townsendhotel.com.

Downtown:

Westin Book Cadillac, Detroit; 313-442-1600,
bookcadillacwestin.com.

 


 

Go directly to: Food & Drink | Shopping | Media | Etc. | Services | People | Leisure

Blowout:

Oakland County (two-way tie):

6 Salon, Royal Oak; 248-398-1586, Birmingham; 248-282-5600, sixsalon.com.
Figo,
Birmingham; 248-723-7990, figo-salon.com.

Macomb County:

Runway Salon & Spa, Shelby Township; 586-786-9299, runwaysalonandspa.vpweb.com.

Yoga studio:

Yoga Shelter, four locations; yogashelter.com.

Massage:

Nicolena Inniss, Deyo Studio, Birmingham; 248-203-1222, deyostudio.com.

Caterer:

Fórte-Belanger, Troy; 248-288-3300, fortecatering.com.

Pet grooming:

Gibraltar Veterinary Hospital, Gibraltar; 734-675-5020, gibraltarvet.com.

Makeover:

East side:

Runway Salon & Spa, Shelby Township; 586-786-9299, runwaysalonandspa.vpweb.com.

West side:

Todd’s Room, Birmingham; 248-594-0003, toddsroombirmingham.com.

Veterinarian:

Gibraltar Veterinary Hospital, Gibraltar; 734-675-5020, gibraltarvet.com.

Divorce lawyer:

Lisa D. Stern, Farmington Hills; 248-851-1700, familylawmich.com.

Shoe repair:

Frank’s, Birmingham; 248-647-3530.

Dressmaker:

Katerina Bocci Designs, Shelby Township; katerinabocci.com.

Car repair:

The Suburban Collection, Troy; 877-471-7100, suburbancollection.com.

Tailor/Alterations:

Ali, The Birmingham Tailor, Birmingham; 248-433-3703.

Dry cleaner:

Huntington Cleaners, Huntington Woods; 248-541-6038, huntingtoncleaners.com.

Spa (two-way tie):

Margot’s European Day Spa,
Birmingham; 248-642-3770, margots.com.
Tamara Spa & Wellness, Farmington Hills; 248-855-0474, tamaraspa.com

Makeup:

Oakland County:

Todd’s Room, Birmingham; 248-594-0003, toddsroombirmingham.com.

Macomb County:

Runway Salon & Spa, Shelby Township; 586-786-9299, runwaysalonandspa.vpweb.com.

Gym:

Chain:

Lifetime Fitness, six area locations;
lifetimefitness.com.

Local:

Nth Degree, Royal Oak; 248-545-3800, nthdegreefitness.com.

Manicure:

Shelia Shamami at Aqua Salon,
West Bloomfield Township; 248-851-2782, salonaqua.com.

Pedicure:

Oakland County:

Shelia Shamami at Aqua Salon,
West Bloomfield Township; 248-851-2782, salonaqua.com.

Macomb County:

Runway Salon & Spa, Shelby Township; 586-786-9299, runwaysalonandspa.vpweb.com.

Royal Oak Nails, Royal Oak; 248-542-1209.

Facial:

Oakland County:

Elena at Beauty by RX, Birmingham; 248-792-6780, beautybyrx.com.

Macomb County:

Runway Salon & Spa, Shelby Township; 586-786-9299, runwaysalonandspa.vpweb.com.

Florist:

Multiple locations:

Wesley Berry Flowers, four locations;
wesleyberryflowers.com.

Single location:

Blossoms, Birmingham; 248-644-4411, blossomsbirmingham.com.

Hair salon:

Runway Salon & Spa, Shelby Township; 586-786-9299, runwaysalonandspa.vpweb.com.

 


 

Go directly to: Food & Drink | Shopping | Media | Etc. | Services | People | Leisure

Celebrity dinner companion:

Kid Rock.

Colorful character (two-way tie):

Kid Rock.
Sam Riddle. 

Political dinner companion:

 Mayor Dave Bing.

Future governor (two-way tie):

Rick Snyder.
Mike Cox.

DJ (non-radio):

Mike Anthony.

Sports star:

Nicklas Lidström, defenseman, Detroit Red Wings.

Best-dressed woman (two-way tie):

Rhonda Walker.
Kay Morris.

Best-dressed man:

Dr. Steven Morris.

Publicity hound:

Geoffrey Fieger.

Maître d’:

Jim Lark, The Lark, West Bloomfield
Township; 248-661-4466, thelark.com.

Chef (two-way tie):

John Somerville, The Lark, West Bloomfield Township; 248-661-4466, thelark.com.
André Neimanis, Dirty Dog Jazz Café;
313-882-5299, dirtydogjazz.com.

Sommelier:

Madeline Triffon, Matt Prentice Restaurant
Group; mattprenticerg.org.

Bartender:

Carl, The Lark, West Bloomfield Township; 248-661-4466, thelark.com.

Local Band:

Hot Club of Detroit; hotclubofdetroit.com.

Personal trainer:

Male:

Dave Krainiak; mibootcamps.com.

Female:

Jennifer Gray; bodybyjen.com.

 


 

Go directly to: Food & Drink | Shopping | Media | Etc. | Services | People | Leisure

Concert venue:

DTE Music Theatre (Pine Knob); Clarkson;
palace.net.

Learn to dance (two-way tie):

Sangria Tapas Café (free salsa lessons),
Royal Oak; 248-543-1964, sangriaroyaloak.com.
Arthur Murray Dance Center;
arthurmurraymichigan.com.

Charity event:

Auto Show Charity Preview; naias.com.

New bar (two-way tie):

Rosie O’Grady’s, Chesterfield Township,
Ferndale, Sterling Heights;  rosieogradysirishpub.com.
The Hamilton Room,
Birmingham; 248-593-6565, thehamiltonroom.com.

Neighborhood bar:

Dick O’Dow’s, Birmingham; 248-642-1135.

Bar for business deals:

The Capital Grille, Troy; thecapitalgrille.com.

Pickup bar:

220 restaurant, Birmingham; 248-645-2150, 220restaurant.com.

Gay bar:

Pronto!, Royal Oak; 248-544-7900, prontorestaurant.com.

Lesbian bar:

Como’s, Ferndale; 248-548-5005.

Casino:

MGM Grand, Detroit; 877-888-2121,
mgmgranddetroit.com.

Karaoke:

Royal Kubo, Clawson; 248-588-2300.

Jazz club:

Cliff Bell’s, Detroit; 313-961-2543, cliffbells.com.

Bowling alley:

Chain:

Lucky Strike, Novi; 248-374-3420,
bowlluckystrike.com.

Local:

Garden Bowl, Detroit; 313-833-9700,
majesticdetroit.com.

Pool hall:

Chain:

Snookers Pool & Pub; greatplaces4goodtimes.com.

Local:

Loving Touch, Ferndale; 248-546-3644.

Place to see a movie:

Birmingham Palladium, Birmingham;
uptownentertainment.com.

Art film:

Chain:

Main Art, Royal Oak; 248-263-2111,
landmarktheatres.com.

Local:

Detroit Film Theatre (at the DIA), Detroit; 313-833-3237, dia.org.

 

Outdoor driving range:

Carl’s Golfland, Bloomfield Township;
248-335-8095, carlsgolfland.com.

Indoor driving range (three-way tie):

Great Lakes Golf Center, Auburn Hills; 248-332-4653, greatlakesgolfcenter.com.
Carl’s Golfland, Bloomfield Township; 248-335-8095, carlsgolfland.com.
Oasis Golf Center, Plymouth; 734-420-4653, oasisgolfcenter.com.

Neon sign:

MotorCity Casino, Detroit; motorcitycasino.com.

Wine bar:

Vinotecca, Royal Oak; 248-544-6256, vinotecca.com.

Scenic drive:

Lakeshore Drive, the Grosse Pointes.

Freebie (two-way tie):

Detroit RiverWalk; detroitriverfront.org.
Metro Times; metrotimes.com.

Michigan vacation destination:

Traverse City.

Annual sporting event:

 Tigers Opening Day.

Happy hour:

Kona Grill, Troy; 248-619-9060, konagrill.com.

Special-event venue:

Infinity & Ovation Yacht Charters;
infinityandovation.com.

Freebie:

Detroit RiverWalk; detroitriverfront.org.

Baseball Diamond:

Liberty Park, Sterling Heights;
586-978-9070, libertyparkofamerica.com.

Neon Sign:

MotorCity Casino, Detroit; motorcitycasino.com.

Casino:

MGM Grand Detroit, Detroit;
877- 888-2121, mgmgranddetroit.com.

Scenic Drive:

Jefferson/Lakeshore (in the Grosse Pointes).

Indoor tennis club:

Franklin Athletic Club, Southfield;
248-352-8000; franklinclub.com.

Place to hear bands:

Magic Bag, Ferndale; 248-544-3030,
themagicbag.com.

Tennis courts:

Franklin Athletic Club, Southfield; 248-352-8000, franklinclub.com.

Public golf course (two-way tie):

Rackham, Huntington Woods;
248-543-4040,
rackham.americangolf.com.
Shepherd’s Hollow Golf Club,
Clarkston; 248-922-0300, shepherdshollow.com.

Private golf course:

Oakland Hills Country Club, Bloomfield Township; 248-644-2500, oaklandhillscc.com.

Facebook Comments